Add Listing
  • You have no bookmark.

Your Wishlist : 0 listings

Sign In


The University of Ilorin is located in Ilorin, the capital city of Kwara State on latitude 8.4799° N and longitude 4.5418° E, covering an approximate land mass of 5,000 hectares. The University of Ilorin is located about 500km apart from Nigeria’s national capital (Abuja) and about 300km away from the Nation’s economic capital (Lagos).
The University of Ilorin was one of the seven institutions of higher learning established by a decree of the Federal Military Government in August 1975. This step, taken to implement one of the educational directives of the country’s Third National Development Plan, was aimed at providing more opportunities for Nigerians aspiring to acquire a university education and to generate high-level manpower, so vital for the rapidly expanding economy. The University began as a University College affiliated to the oldest university in Nigeria in 1975 under the leadership of the then principal, Dr. T.N. Tamuno. The first set of 200 students, selected following an entrance examination, was admitted into the residence on 23 October 1976, while academic work started on 25 October after the Principal’s address. The University College started with three academic faculties of Arts, Science and Education. In October 1977, the institution attained full autonomous status with the appointment of the then Principal, Professor O.O Akinkugbe as first vice-chancellor.
The University started off on a portion of the temporary campus of the Kwara State Polytechnic known as the mini campus. This was the site of academic programmes in the Faculties of Arts, Science, Education, Engineering & Technology, Business and Social Sciences, and basic clinical sciences of the Health Sciences Faculty. It was the only campus of the university until January 1982 when more than 1000 students studying science were moved following the completion of new Faculty blocks and residences for Natural Sciences and Engineering on the permanent campus site. In 1983, the law programme was started as a department in the Faculty of Business and Social Sciences. Following a 6-year hiatus, it was re-established in 1993 as a full-fledged Faculty. The university now has 15 faculties: Arts, Agriculture, Environmental Sciences, Life Sciences, Management Sciences, Physical Sciences, Social Sciences, Communication and Information Sciences, Education, Engineering and Technology, Pharmaceutical Sciences, Veterinary Medicine, and Law; a College of Health Sciences (with 2 Faculties-Basic Medical Sciences and Clinical Sciences); two institutes (Institute of Education and Unilorin Sugar Research Institute); and the Postgraduate School. These faculties have over 60 academic departments. Undergraduate degree programmes are run for 3-5, or 6 years, depending on entry qualifications and discipline.
The University now possesses a staff strength of about 4,474, with over 48,000 undergraduate and over 5,000 postgraduate students in 90 academic programmes across fifteen (15) faculties. Furthermore, the school of Preliminary Studies with Remedial and JUPEB programmes has over 3600 students. The University of Ilorin is one of the foremost universities in sub-Saharan African with an uninterrupted academic programme for over 16 years. Its products have excelled in several sectors nationally and internationally.

Available Dates

Street View

Items Reviewed - 1

5.0Very Good

University of Ilorin

Add Review

Your email is safe with us.
3.5 Your Score
Add Photos

Working Hours

Now Open UTC - 8
  • Monday Open all day
  • Tuesday Open all day
  • Wednesday Open all day
  • Thursday Open all day
  • Friday Open all day
  • Saturday Open all day
  • Sunday Open all day

Booking Inquiry

Total Cost $
The total cost above doesn't include 10% service fee.

Price Range

Hosted by :

Sumeltex 151 Places Hosted

Listing Tags

Verified by MonsterInsights